Posts Tagged ‘Lou Amundson’

POSTERIZED POLL Week of Jan. 22

ALL BALL NERVE CENTER — Like we always do at this time, let’s take a look at the best instances of people getting #POSTERIZED over the last week and, at the bottom of the post, you can place your vote for a winner. And don’t forget, if you see someone get posterized, tweet it with the hashtag #POSTERIZED so we don’t miss it!

Let’s get right to it this week. Special shoutout to last week’s winner, Toronto’s DeMar DeRozan!

OK, let’s get to the POSTERS…so many entrants this week, perhaps our strongest poll yet from top to bottom, including a special double dose of the great Boban Marjanovic(more…)

POSTERIZED POLL Week of Nov. 17

ALL BALL NERVE CENTER — Like we always do at this time, let’s take a look at the best instances of people getting #POSTERIZED over the last week and, at the bottom of the post, place your vote for a winner. And remember, if you see someone get posterized, tweet it with the hashtag #POSTERIZED so we don’t miss it!

Finally, congratulations to last week’s winner, Andrew Wiggins!

Now, let’s go to the posters!

DEMARCUS COUSINS ON THE NETS


VIDEO: Cousins on Nets

ANTHONY DAVIS ON LOU AMUNDSON


VIDEO: AD on Knicks

KAWHI LEONARD ON MASON PLUMLEE


VIDEO: Leonard on Plumlee

JABARI PARKER ON KEVIN LOVE


VIDEO: Parker on Love

RUSSELL WESTBROOK ON THE CELTICS


VIDEO: Westbrook on Celtics

HASSAN WHITESIDE ON DERRICK FAVORS


VIDEO: Whiteside on Favors

Knicks break out three-step layup

ALL BALL NERVE CENTER — The New York Knicks may be struggling this season, but you can’t say they aren’t trying new things. According to Section XIV of the NBA rule book, here is what constitutes a traveling violation while shooting a layup:

b. A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may use a two-count rhythm in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball.
The first count occurs:
(1) As he receives the ball, if either foot is touching the floor at the time he receives it.
(2) As the foot touches the floor, or as both feet touch the floor simultaneously after he receives the ball, if both feet are off the floor when he receives it.
The second occurs:
(1) After the count of one when either foot touches the floor, or both feet touch the floor simultaneously.

Got that? All that is a fancy way of saying, basically, that you are allowed to take two steps without dribbling before you shoot the ball. It’s a simple rule, one that anyone who has played or watched basketball understands and applies intuitively.

Which might be why the referees were so surprised during yesterday’s Knicks game when Lou Amundson grabbed a steal and broke out on a solo fast break. And as he neared the basket, instead of taking two steps and putting the ball in the basket, Amundson took three steps and, amazingly, got away with it. Hashtag this one “shaqtin,” please…


VIDEO: Amundson walks