ALL BALL NERVE CENTER — The New York Knicks may be struggling this season, but you can’t say they aren’t trying new things. According to Section XIV of the NBA rule book, here is what constitutes a traveling violation while shooting a layup:
b. A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may use a two-count rhythm in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball.
The first count occurs:
(1) As he receives the ball, if either foot is touching the floor at the time he receives it.
(2) As the foot touches the floor, or as both feet touch the floor simultaneously after he receives the ball, if both feet are off the floor when he receives it.
The second occurs:
(1) After the count of one when either foot touches the floor, or both feet touch the floor simultaneously.
Got that? All that is a fancy way of saying, basically, that you are allowed to take two steps without dribbling before you shoot the ball. It’s a simple rule, one that anyone who has played or watched basketball understands and applies intuitively.
Which might be why the referees were so surprised during yesterday’s Knicks game when Lou Amundson grabbed a steal and broke out on a solo fast break. And as he neared the basket, instead of taking two steps and putting the ball in the basket, Amundson took three steps and, amazingly, got away with it. Hashtag this one “shaqtin,” please…
VIDEO: Amundson walks